Home > About Company > Advisory Board
Carl V. Hanson, Ph.D.

Carl V. Hanson, Ph.D., is the principal investigator on grants from NIH and the U.S. Army for the development and evaluation of HIV vaccines and the study of HIV virology, immunology, and serology. In 1994, Dr. Hanson was the first to observe that experimental AIDS vaccines based on laboratory-adapted HIV strains evoked little or no neutralizing antibodies to protect patients from infection, thereby overturning all previous work done worldwide on HIV vaccines. Dr. Hanson is also the first author of over 90 scientific publications and a reviewer for NIH and several prominent AIDS journals. Currently he serves as a faculty at University of California, Berkeley and head of the Retrovirus Diagnostics Section of the Viral and Rickettsial Disease Laboratory of the California Department of Health Services, Richmond, CA, which serves as California’s reference laboratory for HIV diagnostics.
For the past 15 years, Dr. Hanson has been collaborating closely with UBI to apply his state-of-the art neutralizing antibody assays to UBI’s HIV immunotherapy and vaccine development programs. In addition, Dr. Hanson is a reviewer for NIH and several prominent AIDS journals, and is Chairman of the “Neutralization Task Force” for the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI). Dr. Hanson started his career in biomedical science and virology after he earned his Ph.D. in biophysics from Harvard University.

Connie L. Finstad, Ph.D.

Connie L. Finstad, Ph.D., was an investigator at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City, NY where she was one of the first to study monoclonal antibody therapy for human solid tumors. Dr. Finstad joined UBI in 1997 to manage our cancer immunotherapy project and became Executive Director of Preclinical and Clinical Affairs in 1998. During her service in UBI, she was also a co-investigator in National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) on anti-host humanized monoclonal antibody, HIV-RC vaccine, and HIV-1 immunotherapy projects. Dr, Finstad has been granted multiple Small Business Innovation Research funds. Furthermore, as Director of Preclinical and Clinical Affairs of UBI, Dr. Finstad coordinated and supervised domestic and international preclinical and clinical trials for cancer and AIDS.
Dr. Finstad earned her Ph.D. from New York University and has over 50 publications and 9 patents in cancer immunotherapy and diagnosis. Dr. Finstad is one of the pioneers in cancer monoclonal antibody therapy.

Dr. Tzu-Chen Yen, Ph.D.

Dr. Yan, Ph.D., graduated from National Yang-Ming University, specializing in nuclear medicine, radioimmunoassay, molecular medicine, and biochemistry. Currently, Dr. Yan is the Director and professor in the nuclear medicine department at Chang Gung Medical University, the Director of and professor of molecular imaging center in Chang Gung Hospital, professor in Department of Chinese Medicine and Department of Biomedical Imaging and Radiological Sciences at Chang Gung Medical University, and professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at National Tsing Hua University. She persuaded Chang Gung Medical Hospital to build a NTD $500 million Translational Bioimaging Center and conducted both educational training for center popularization and cooperative research for academic exchanges. This center has over 150 publications on PubMed with over 100 of them published in the past 5 years.

Dr. Shu-Fen Lo

Dr. Lo is a physician at Chang Gung Medical Hospital (Department of Rheumatology and Immunology) and a professor in College of Medicine of Chang Gung Medical University. She is honored in the field of autoimmune disease. Dr. Lo is a Director in Taiwan Rheumatology Association, Taiwanese Osteoporosis Association, Chinese Society of Immunology, and a Deputy Director in the Asia Pacific League of Associations for Rheumatology. In addition to her clinical achievements, Dr. Lo has published numerous papers about systemic lupus erythematosus and rheumatology. Dr. Lo graduated from the College of Medicine, National Taiwan University.

Jian-Tai Timothy Qui, Ph.D.

Jian-Tai Timothy Qui, Ph.D. is currently a physician at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital and an associate professor in College of Medicine at Chang Gung University, specializing in cancer immunology and virology. Dr. Qui received his M.D from National Yang-Ming University and his Ph.D. in Immunological Medicine from Johns Hopkins University in the US. Dr. Qui has dozens of publications in cancer field. He currently serves as the Chairperson of Gynecologic Oncology Research Center at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Chairperson of Asian Gynecologic Oncology Group, a consultant of Taiwan Center of Drug Evaluation, and a member of editing committee of Gynecologic Oncology, International Journal of Gynecologic Cancer and Chang Gung Medical Journal.

Wen-Chun Peng, Ph.D.

Wen-Chun (James) Peng, Ph.D. is the Vice President of R&D at United Biomedical, Asia (UBIA). He established the protein/antibody expression technology platform in mammalian cells and set up the screening platform for selecting high productivity cell lines. He also participated in the construction of cGMP protein drug pilot plant and assisted with setting up the GLP laboratory to support the development of UBI Asia’s innovative immunotherapy products. His team has accomplished numerous projects such as development of antibodies, biosimilar drugs, biomedical instruments, and human and animal vaccines. His team is also involved in and executes preclinical and clinical studies such as development of vaccines and antibodies for Alzheimer’s disease, AIDS, bird flu, and other infectious diseases.
Dr. Peng earned his Ph.D. in biomedical science from National Tsing Hua University, specializing in molecular virology and molecular biology.

Dr. Ming-Hsun Lee, Ph.D.

Dr. Ming-Hsun Lee holds a Bachelor of Medicine from Kaohsiung Medical College, and received his Master’s degree in Infectious Diseases from Imperial College, University of London, and Ph.D. in Microbiology from Queen Mary and Westfield College, University of London. Dr. Lee is a physician and specialized in infectious disease control and AIDS treatment with many publications in the area of infectious diseases. He was a member of Acute Neuron Syndrome Review Committee at Center of Disease Control, National Health Insurance Administration of Ministry of Health and Welfare (NHI), and a member of Health Review Committee at National Health Insurance Administration-Northern Division. He was also a Visiting Staff in Division of Infectious Diseases and General Medicine at Chang Gung University who has extensive clinical experience in infectious medicine. Currently, he is a Visiting Staff in Division of Infectious Diseases at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital.

Wei-Li Chen, Chief Pharmacist

Mr. Wei-Li Chen is specialized in management of clinical drug. He served as a Deputy Director of Pharmacy Department at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Linkou, a Pharmacist of Pharmacy Department at Taipei City Hospital, and a Director of Taiwan Clinical Pharmaceutical Association. Currently, he is a Supervisor of Tao Yuan Pharmacist Association, the committee member of Pharmaceutical Education Planning Board and Taiwan Pharmacist Association, and a Senior Engineer of Project Development Division in Medical Department, Formosa Plastics Group.

首頁 > 關於我們 > 科學顧問
Carl V. Hanson, Ph.D.
Hanson博士是美國國衛院和美國國防部資助的愛滋病疫苗和愛滋病病毒學、免疫學和血清學研究發展和評估的主要研究者,也是在1994年最先發現「以實驗室馴化HIV病毒株製成之實驗性愛滋病疫苗無法保護由病人取得之愛滋病毒」的科學家之一,其發表之國際科學論文超過90篇,同時也擔任美國國家衛生研究院的計畫與諸多著名期刊的評審委員。目前Hanson博士任教於加州柏克萊大學,同時為Retrovirus Diagnostics Section of the Viral and Rickettsial Disease Laboratory of the California Department of Health Services(美國加州公共衛生部)的負責人,其實驗室為加州HIV診斷之參考實驗室 (reference laboratory)。

過去十五年,Hanson博士與 UBI密切合作,將其最先進之中和抗體試驗技術應用於HIV免疫治療藥物與疫苗開發計畫。此外,Hanson博士亦是國際愛滋疫苗組織 (International AIDS Vaccine Initiative 、IAVI) 中「Neutralization Task Force」任務小組的前主席。Hanson博士早期取得哈佛大學生物物理學博士後轉入生物醫學及病毒學研究。

Connie L. Finstad, Ph.D.
Finstad博士曾任職紐約 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center,並進行首次單株抗體應用於癌症治療之研究。1997年加入UBI擔任前臨床及臨床研究處處長, 任職期間曾任美國國家過敏與感染疾病研究院 (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases,NIAID) 抗宿主擬人化單株抗體、HIV-RC疫苗與HIV-1免疫療法研究之共同研究者;並屢次獲得中小企業創新研究 (Small Business Innovation Research) 基金獎助。Finstad博士擁有豐富抗體藥物與疫苗應用於免疫治療領域之經驗,並於1998年以UBI臨床試驗處處長之身分,統籌與監督美國境內及海外各單位共同執行多項癌症及愛滋病 (HIV-1) 之前臨床及臨床試驗。

Finstad博士於美國紐約大學取得博士,在癌症免疫治療及診斷領域發表超過五十篇國際論文,並且擁有九項專利,是早期投入以單株抗體治療癌症病患之研究者。

閻紫宸 醫師
陽明大學醫學系學士、陽明大學臨床醫學研究所博士。專長核子醫學、放射免疫分析、分子醫學、生物化學。現任長庚紀念醫院核子醫學科主任與教授、長庚紀念醫院分子影像中心主任與教授、長庚大學中醫學系專任教授與醫放系所合聘教授、國立清華大學電資學院合聘教授。閻醫師於 2004 年以實際成績與宏觀規劃,獲得長庚集團創辦人王永慶先生支持陸續投入超過五億的資金,為長庚醫院打造世界級的『轉譯研究影像中心』,該中心成立以來,成績斐然,其發表在 PubMed 文章 超過 150 篇,其中 100 篇以上為五年內發表,在所屬研究領域貢獻卓著。
羅淑芬 醫師
羅淑芬醫師現任長庚紀念醫院免疫風科主治醫師與長庚醫院與長庚大學醫學系教授,是風濕免疫疾病領域權威之一,目前也是中華民國風濕病學會理事、中華民國骨質疏鬆症學會理事、中華民國免疫學會理事、亞太風濕病學會副理事長。羅醫師除擔任臨床醫師外,亦從事與紅斑性狼瘡與類風濕性關節炎之臨床研究,發表學術論文數十篇。畢業於台灣大學醫學院。
邱健泰 博士
邱健泰醫師是現任長庚紀念醫院婦產科主治醫師,長庚大學生物醫學系副教授,專長癌症免疫學與病毒學。邱醫師畢業於陽明大學醫學系,於美國約翰霍普金斯大學取得免疫醫學博士,擁有癌症領域學術論文數十篇。邱醫師同時也是長庚紀念醫院婦癌研究中心負責人、亞洲婦癌研究團體(Asian Gynecologic Oncology Group)理事長、「Gynecologic Oncology」、「International Journal of Gynecologic Cancer」、「Chang Gung Medical Journal」編輯委員、財團法人醫藥品查驗中心業務指導顧問。
李明勳 博士
高雄醫學院醫學院醫學士、倫敦大學Imperial College感染症學碩士、倫敦大學Queen Mary and Westfield College微生物學博士。李博士專長為感染醫學、感染管制及愛滋病,是內科、感染科專科醫師,過去曾發表感染症領域相關學術論文。李博士曾任衛生署疾病管制局急性神經症候群審查小組委員、衛生署健保北區分局醫療審查小組委員及長庚紀念醫院內科部感染科及一般內科(門診)主治醫師,感染醫學經驗豐富。現為長庚紀念醫院感染醫學科主治醫師。
陳偉立 總藥師
專長於臨床試驗藥品管理,過去曾任於林口長庚紀念醫院藥劑部副部主任及臺北市立聯合醫院藥劑部藥師、社團法人台灣臨床藥學會理事,現任社團法人桃園市藥師公會監事、藥師公會全國聯合會藥學教育規畫委員會委員、台塑醫學事業發展專案組資深工程師。